Big Woy

Brief post as I am currently broadband-less and having to rely on the WordPress iPhone app.

Roy Hodgson’s appointment as England manager is an interesting one and I for one wish him the best of luck (to a point, leaving my football-based nationalism to one side).

However, the fact that the FA has offered him a 4-year contract utterly baffles me. Capello’s resignation was the FA’s chance, in my view, to take on a one-championship, no-risk appointment and then assess that person’s performance thereafter. This approach particularly made sense to me after Capello was offered a new contract before England’s World Cup experience in South Africa.

So, before going into a major championship, England offer their new manager a 4-year deal. Before! The old fool me once/twice quote leaps to mind. If England’s performances in Ukraine and Poland are terrible, there could be yet another large managerial payoff to come.

Leave a Reply

