Predictions for 2015

I tend to do this most years on the blog and tend to get the odd thing here and there correct. So here goes for the upcoming halfway through the decade year.

Starting as ever in football, I fancy Man City to make Paddy Power look a bit silly and retain the Premier League title. Teams to go down from the Barclays Premier League will be QPR, Crystal Palace and Leicester. I fancy Spurs to win the League Cup (just to be different) and Manchester United to win the FA Cup, assuming they can improve on their fairly boring first half against Yeovil.

Celtic are obviously going to win the SPFL again – I fancy Hearts and Hibs to come up from the Championship with Rangers staying put for another year while Mike Ashley gets his shareholding ducks in a row.

East Fife will finish in the lower half of League 2 with nothing much to look forward to for next season either. I imagine Real Madrid and Bayern Munich will win their respective league titles – I fancy Bayern to exact some revenge in the Champions League. I really hope, and think, that Marcelo Bielsa’s Marseille can hang on and win Ligue 1 in France.

I can see an Algeria win in the Africa Cup of Nations, with Cape Verde doing well again (with any luck), while I think Chile can do the business on home soil in the Copa America.

Turning away from football, I’m going to read a lot into Andy Murray’s early season form and decide that he will win a Grand Slam tournament this year, despite his likely low seeding in at least the Australian and the French. Nadal and Djokovic are likely to share the others though I again think Stan Wawrinka will challenge – I said this last year and I was right so I’ll say it again.

Ireland will win the Six Nations again while Scotland’s excellent form in the Autumn Internationals won’t, for once, be a false dawn as they put together a decent showing in against Europe’s best. I also fancy the Irish to put in a decisive showing at the Rugby World Cup but I think South Africa will win the tournament.

England will lose a low-quality Ashes series by 2-1, with an equally poor showing at the Cricket World Cup, which Australia will win.

That’s all I can think of for now – feel free to agree/disagree/comment.

One thought on “Predictions for 2015

Leave a Reply

